Susie Lau interview

* Some part of her interview from 

http://www.theguardian.com/theobserver/2014/feb/16/susie-lau-interview-london-fashion-week

Interview by 

Wrapping up: Susie Lau, aka Susie Bubble, at New York fashion week earlier this month.

Describe your style.
Very eclectic. I mix up different styles. I love colour, I love print and enjoy trying lots of different things.

What’s your favourite item right now?
A bright orange faux-fur coat. It’s pretty pimping! I wore it a lot in New York because it’s the warmest thing ever. I was a blob of orange bobbing up and down in a sea of black. Quite a look.

What are your style tips for this spring/summer?
Lots of reflective fabric and sheeny, shiny metallics. Pleated skirts too. There’s going to be a lot of that on the high street. Plus what I would call “maximal expression”: art-inspired prints, abstract patterns and bold graphics.

Would you like to see more different body shapes on the runway too?
If I’m truly honest, I’m not sure it’ll ever happen. What designers are going for at shows is a uniform look to show off the clothes and let the audience see the lines. That doesn’t mean it’s right, that’s just the way it is. Editorial and advertising are more likely to change than catwalk. Magazines are already showing more naturalistic shapes. But I don’t agree with this clamour for “real” or “normal” either. Everything’s heightened in fashion. A lot of this industry is a fantasy.

Article from 

http://www.matchesfashion.com/womens/the-style-report/my-fashion-life/susie-bubble

Image

Peering out from behind her heavy, glossy black fringe, Susie Lau is wide-eyed with excitement. Dressed in an Erdem organza cape and matching floral-print blouse, it’s easy to see why the 29-year-old’s adventurous style is devoutly followed by thousands around the globe on her blog, Style Bubble. The eldest of four sisters (Lau is British-born Chinese with both parents from Hong Kong) she realised the dividends of straight-talking early on: the Londoner’s honest and analytical musings have established her as a pioneer who has helped shape fashion’s current landscape, with an appeal that reaches and far and wide.

‘I never intended to get into the fashion industry. I studied history at University College London and I was working in advertising when I set up my blog seven years ago. I started it as a way of expressing my love of fashion without actually working in the industry, because I never thought I could. Somehow, two years later I ended up atDazed & Confused as the online editor. I think it came about because fashion started to embrace bloggers, whereas before we were outsiders and publications didn’t understand us. I was part of that first wave when blogging archetypes were set; commentators, street style, personal style – my peers were people like Garance Doré, Scott Schuman and Imran Amed. We made it up as we went along: today bloggers are editors, web editors and stylists.

Image‘Being a blogger is an all-encompassing role. My day-to-day routine really varies. In London, I spend a lot of time in front of my computer, researching, writing and editing photos, or I will be out and about visiting studios, exhibitions, conducting interviews and taking pictures. I work for myself so I have to do everything by myself. If I’m travelling, my days can be filled with literally anything. I love discovering different scenes in different cities. Fashion is so global now, so it’s nice to visit places like Shanghai, Bangkok and Istanbul. Discovery is the best part of my job. It’s exciting and makes me want to work faster and keep up with the pace of the digital world.

‘Leaving the house presents itself as an opportunity to wear your favourite things. I like wearing all of mine at once, and if they clash a little bit then that’s OK. I’ve never really been into jeans – I’m getting more into them lately and will wear ripped styles with a denim jacket and a matching shirt. But I’m just as comfortable in a pair of loud printed trousers as I am jeans.

‘My style has definitely evolved. I’ve gone through so many phases; at one point I would wear only after 1940s’ tea dresses, but I don’t have good hair for victory rolls. It’s important to go through these things. Even now I wouldn’t say the way I dress is my final developed style – there is no final stage, there’s only evolution.

‘Hot weather brings out the maximalist in me. Even in summer I’m still the person who wears loads of layers. Two years ago I went to Orange County in California and I couldn’t have stuck out any more. I was on the beach wearing an orange bathing suit with a little jacket on top and some sheer trousers over my one-piece – all topped off with a big hat. But that’s my idea of beachwear. I’m the person who can’t stop decorating a cake. I can’t just put one flower on; I’ll add another, then stars, then hundreds and thousands. More is more.

‘My wardrobe is 30% vintage, 30% high street, 30% designer. When I travel, I seek out great vintage places. Tokyo is my favorite city for shopping – it’s where I go for my second-hand Comme des Garçons and Junya Watanabe fixes. I naturally go for show pieces and end up spending more money than intended to, but I can’t help it, I buy from the heart. My closet is organised chaos but there are vague sections; obviously there’s the after 1940s’ tea dress section but I don’t wear them any more so they just sit there, rather forlornly.
Leave a Reply

